Sport of the Arts Award

Each year, we award the CWEA Sport of the Arts Award to the person or group that displays qualities of outstanding sportsmanship throughout the season, including the true spirit of community learning and giving of oneself to make this activity better for all who engage in it.

Nomination Process

Each year, any interested party may nominate a person or group to the Awards Committee. Shortly before Circuit Championships, the Committee reviews the nominations and submits its recommendations to the Board of Directors. The Board of Directors then select that year's Sport of the Arts Award recipient from among those recommendations.

Note: Nominations are currently closed. Please check back at the start of the season for more information.

Previous Recipients

2019 - Susan Winfree, Chaz Paxton, and Riverside HS Percussion (in memory of Jim Irish)
2018 - Will Archie
2017 - Wade Hampton HS & Clayton Parker
2016 - Benjamin Hipp
2015 - Nikki Crawford-Jones
2014 - Brian Barfield
2013 - Ridge View HS
2012 - Jeremy Dale & Todd Russell
2011 - Lu Graham
2010 - Ophelia Darby
2009 - Recipient Unknown
2008 - Shawn Bethay
2007 - Recipient Unknown
2006 - Deb Griffin
2005 - CA Johnson HS
2004 - Summerville HS B
2003 - Recipient Unknown
2002 - Recipient Unknown
2001 - Recipient Unknown

Note: We are compiling the history of this award prior to 2009. If you are aware of a recipient that is not listed here, please contact us at [email protected].